Leave a comment

New Year’s Determinations 2013

Hearing the phrase “New Year’s Resolutions” to me doesn’t sound as appealing as “New Year’s Determinations”. Once the New Year hits it seems many people around me are talking about their “New Year’s Resolutions”, but it seems to me it’s more what they hope to do or should do for the year and not what they are necessarily determined to do. After looking up the definition of  resolution the dictionary states it’s “a resolve or determination: to make a firm resolution to do something”. I decided it was more fitting for me to call my goals of the year 2013 as “New Year Determinations”. Hopefully wording my hopes for the year as determinations will keep me more determined (ha!).

1. Start writing a blog

Writing has been something I have always enjoyed and being more interested in social media has really given me the push to start my own blog. Plus I really enjoy cooking and running and thought I could share some of my experiences along the way (or at least have some fun with it on my part). Now I just have to make the time for it!

2. Get in the best shape of my life

Fitness has really been a part of my entire life, but in recent years I have started to get more interested and have really made fitness a part of my lifestyle. This year I want to feel the best about how I look, which I’m sure will be tested the first time this summer I have to put on that bikini! Yikes!

3. Run the highest # of miles

Running has become my favorite form of fitness., which is all thanks to my friend Stacy who forced me into signing up for my first half marathon last January. Thanks to her I can’t stop running-I just can’t! Last year I ran close to 700 miles so hopefully I can top that threshold in 2013. Bring it!

4. Save $

I feel like I am finally at a point in my life where I should and need to start saving. You know-that point where you finally have paid off all that stupid credit card debit from college and hope to own a home in the future? Living paycheck to paycheck because I like all five of those Victoria Secret swimsuits or I just can’t refuse that unnecessary Starbucks espresso will hopefully be a thing of the past in 2013.

5. Make time for loved ones.

I love my family, my boyfriend’s family (well and of course him 🙂 ), and all my friends, but it seems like there is never enough time (especially when summer hits and there are plans every weekend) to fit them all in. This year I hope to balance my time and make sure I fit everyone in and go the extra step to see ones I haven’t seen in a while more often.

So there they are, my “New Year Determinations”, hopefully I follow through with them over the course of the year. Cheers to 2013!

What are your “New Year Determinations” for 2013?

Leave a Reply

