1 Comment

Coincidence? I think not…(and some injury tips)

Before I get to the reasoning of my post title let me give you a little run down of what last week involved for me. I ran 8 miles last Sunday and must have pulled or strained my hamstring, or possibly my IT band. This is my first injury as a runner so I am not really sure what I injured,  but I had pain in my upper leg that almost seemed to move to different areas as the week went on. Here is an image of the IT band if you didn’t know what I was referring to.

IT band

I didn’t go to the doctor and spent most of the week limping around. Not the funnest thing when you have over a mile of a walk by the time you walk to and from work. I decided in order to prevent myself from a serious injury that I better take a full week off from running and decided on omitting working out all together just to be on the safe side. I can’t remember the last time I took a full week off from working out! I was angry thinking about the half marathon training I was missing out on and knew it would push me back a little for my half next month. Then I thought about it and decided to take care of myself and get over it, life could be worse! I iced my hamstring/knee as often as I could, as they say make sure to R.I.C.E. when you are injured-rest, ice, compression, and elevation.

R.I.C.E.

Along with the R.I.C.E. technique I also did daily foam rolling. Good thing I bought that baby a week earlier! I had read a lot of running articles that discussed how important foam rolling is for releasing tension in your body, especially after hard runs. They range in styles from smooth to rumble ones that are more intense. I often like deep massages so I went with the rumble style for more intensity.

foam roller

foam roller

After looking for foam roller exercises that target the hamstring/it band region I went with these exercises for using my foam roller. There are other techniques for other parts of the body, but I wanted to be sure to trigger point the painful areas.

Foam Roller 1

Foam Roller 2

Of course I found these images from Pinterest!

As a heads up if you haven’t foam rolled before, it’s not very comfortable and is actually pretty intense even if you use the smooth roller. It took some getting use to, but I just kept thinking to myself the more I do it the more I will loosen the muscle and get rid of knots so it will get less intense in time.

Now to my post title Coincidence? I think not…..things I have dealt with for not working out for a week.

1. Insomnia, I never slept good last week. I even woke up at 3AM one morning and just called it a night of sleep because I couldn’t get back to sleep.

2. Sickness, I got a sore throat and a head cold.

3. Weight-loss, I lost 4 pounds, which means I lost muscle.

My point being working out is good for you and really has aided  me with good sleep, staying healthy, and staying fit. I’m not 100% sure all of my last week encounters happened because I didn’t get my daily runs in, but I’m pretty convinced even more after not hitting the gym last week that running does keep you healthy, in more aspects than one! However, you need to make sure to treat an injury and not overdue it, so I am pleased with the outcome, although I had to take a week of I am up and running this week 🙂

Have you ever had to deal with an injury? If so, any tips?

What do you think of foam rolling?

One comment on “Coincidence? I think not…(and some injury tips)

  1. Foam rolling is a MUST! I try to do it at least 3 times a week if not more- depending on how tight my it band is.

Leave a Reply

